Victoria’s transition to a new accessible parking permit scheme

A pilot of the new Accessible Parking Permit (APP) Scheme and online administration system is underway.  The new APP Scheme will streamline the application process, making it easier, simpler and more consistent across the state.

Improvements to the Scheme include:

  • introduction of temporary permits for 6, 12 or 24 months
  • increased permit length from three years to five years for individuals
  • introduction of a permanent disability classification, so reassessments are not required for future permit renewals
  • a new single and secure state-wide permit design that will reduce the misuse of permits
  • the inclusion of occupational therapists as assessors, in addition to GPs
  • better alignment between Victoria with the COAG 2010 Australian Disability Parking Permit Scheme (ADPS)

The new APP Scheme and online system replaces the previous Victorian Code for the Disabled Persons Parking Scheme and individual council administration systems.

From Monday 30th November, residents and organisations located in the following Council areas who require a new permit or need to renew or replace their current permit will apply online through the new system.

  • Knox City
  • Yarra Ranges Shire
  • Baw Baw Shire
  • Latrobe City
  • South Gippsland Shire
  • Wellington Shire
  • East Gippsland Shire
  • Bass Coast Shire

Residents who live in other council areas not participating in the pilot are currently unaffected by the introduction of the APP Scheme. If you are looking to apply for a Disability Parking Permit or renew an existing permit you will do so through your existing council application processes.

It is anticipated that the remaining Victorian councils will transition to the new Scheme and APP Online Service in 2021.

More information (off-site)


Date published:
Mon 30th Nov, 2020