Building Ministers Communique

The Building Ministers agreed to mandate the Livable Housing Design Silver Level as a standard for all new housing in the National Construction Code. The Gold Standard will also be included in the NCC as a ‘technical referral’ meaning states and territories can decide to upgrade to Gold voluntarily. Whilst there is still work to do to secure a mandatory Gold Standard, this is a big win for people with disability, seniors and indeed all Australians.

View Communique (off-site)
Housing, Accommodation, Tenancy

Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources

Date published:
Fri 30th Apr, 2021